The Irishman

A couple of weeks ago, I went out to a nightclub with a group of Frenchman I’d met that night. We were dancing up a storm and having a ball when I noticed a sad sort of thing against a post off to the side of the dance floor. 

He was as close as you can get to a white Erkel (how’s that for a blast from your sit-com past?): patterned knit sweater with the starchy white collared shirt, square glasses one size too big, ironed slacks and a bad haircut.  He was holding his glass like it was a life preserver.  He sort of swayed to the music beside an older guy and looked around with a hopeful look on his face.

I took pity.  It turns out his Irish accent was so strong nobody else in the bar could understand a word he said, and to be honest, I did a lot of smiling and nodding. 

He said he was just is South Africa for a couple of weeks and the other guy was his boss.  I assumed he’s in IT.  Then he started rambling about cars and I sort of tuned out and people watched for a crucial few moments.  He looked at me and said, “you obviously don’t follow Formula 1 races.”  To which I replied, “car racing?  Have you ever been to Monaco?”  Grasping at conversation straws much or what?

“Monaco?  I live there.”

Que?

“I’m a formula 1 car racer.  I’m here testing out the new MBWs.  Do you want to come try out the new Z5?”

Yeah I do.

He was kind and funny and ended up buying the most scantily clad and available girl in the bar drinks and dancing with her. (Just to clarify – NOT me. Stop laughing Shaadi.)  So the geek turned out the be the nicest and coolest guy in the bar.  Lesson of the night: don’t judge a boy by his cover. 

5 Comments

  1. Jim H said,

    July 20, 2006 at 4:15 am

    and I thought you were in the dark continent on a mission of mercy….not to kick up your heels and have fun! this guy may have looked like a geek, but he seemed clear about the direction he was driving. take care zannah….

  2. Shaadi said,

    July 20, 2006 at 6:42 am

    DUDE! What’s his name?! I’m all about the F1!

    Ya know, the next World Cup is in South Africa. We’ll have to use your connections to get us in to a few games in 4 years.

    Keep safe sweetheart.

    Shad

  3. Debbie said,

    July 23, 2006 at 4:20 pm

    You are hilarious honey heheheh

  4. July 29, 2006 at 12:43 am

    “He was as close as you can get to a white Erkel (how’s that for a blast from your sit-com past?): patterned knit sweater with the starchy white collared shirt, square glasses one size too big, ironed slacks and a bad haircut. He was holding his glass like it was a life preserver. He sort of swayed to the music beside an older guy and looked around with a hopeful look on his face….I assumed he’s in IT…”

    Doh!

    Sounds like you’re having a blast. Have a drink for me;-)

  5. Nancy said,

    August 1, 2006 at 11:17 pm

    Suzannah, keep those observations coming. BE SAFE, with Damien down from the mountain, your mother can shift her worries 100% to South Africa!


Leave a Reply

